2017 Supervisor Election Information & Candidates

Meet the Candidates

Frank Aransky is an engineer, farmer, angler, and one who enjoys the outdoors. Residing in Union Township, he is a Project Development Director at American Structurepoint.  If elected, he would like to see an increase in the awareness of our mission and programs, continued promotion of policies that serve our natural resources, and secure long-term funding for solutions.

April Beggerow is an Ohio Certified Volunteer Naturalist and volunteers with the local Park District and the Ohio Wildlife Center. She sees opportunities to improve water quality through streambank restoration and wetland preservation protocols, educational programs regarding native plant species, and zero waste initiatives by Licking County businesses. Residing in Pataskala, she is employed as the City of Reynoldsburg’s Clerk of Council.

Anthony Burger is a biological science instructor at Central Ohio Technical College. As Licking County continues to grow, Anthony would like to develop plans for sustainable growth to include low impact development alongside stakeholders in the community. If elected, he would like to see increased environmental awareness and mitigating pollution from agricultural systems. Anthony lives in Granville.

Bill Goodman is a beef & blackberry farmer in McKean Township. Retired from the Ohio Department of Agriculture, Bill thinks SWCD has historically done a good job for Licking County taxpayers. Challenges he would like to work on if elected include maintaining technical and financial assistance, addressing the need for conservation practices in highly developed areas, and promoting cost-share programs to assist farmers in pollution abatement activities.

Chris Monroe works for the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency and lives in Franklin Township. Chris sees the opportunity to make Licking County a place people want to live and visit for both its business and natural resources. Concerns include addressing effects of stormwater on county infrastructure, promoting educational opportunities to improve water quality, and ensuring appropriate resources are available to preserve county land and streams.

John Wagy operates his family’s century farm in Pataskala. In 2015, John was named LCSWCD Cooperator of the Year for his commitment to using best management practices including systematic drainage tile systems, grass waterways, variable rate fertilizer application, and nutrient management plans. Respect of the natural watershed is a priority for John, especially promoting the use of variable rate technology and planting cover crops.

Get out and vote!   2017 Board of Supervisor Election

Licking County Soil & Water Conservation District (LCSWCD) has a five-member Board of Supervisors elected by landowners and residents of Licking County. As unpaid Public Officials, the Board members are responsible for conducting business within the scope of the laws and administrative rules that govern LCSWCD. Board members also help guide LCSWCD’s mission with professionalism, efficiency, and effectiveness.

The Ohio Soil & Water Conservation Commission will cause an election of two (2) Supervisors of the LCSWCD to be held in accordance with Chapter 940 of the Ohio Revised Code on November 8, 2017. The three-year term will begin January 1, 2018. The two candidates with the most votes will be announced at the end of LCSWCD Annual Banquet on November 8, 2017.

Voters may cast their ballot one of the following three ways:

1. Vote on Wednesday, November 8, 2017 from 5:30 p.m.–6:30 p.m., at The Grove by the River, 840 Hollander Street, Newark, Ohio.

2. Walk in to cast an absentee ballot at the LCSWCD office on or before 3:00 p.m., Wednesday, November 8, 2017.

3. Mail request for an absentee ballot by completing Licking County Resident Request for Absentee Ballot SEL-2 form (available at www.lickingswcd.com) and mail to LCSWCD office by November 3, 2017.

Click here for a printable Absentee Ballot Request Form and candidate information.